Roasting coffee! Project 1/365

My first project is one I have wanted to do for a long time, one that speaks to me on a very personal level, and one that will benefit my mind, body, soul, and pocketbook for the rest of my life.

I have learned to roast my own coffee beans.

13126766_1750226648528957_830211486_n

It is surprisingly quick and easy, and pretty fun. I found most of my information, and an amazing price on some green coffee beans, from Sweet Maria’s. I’m starting with small batches in an air popcorn popper (very off label use, my warranty is absolutely voided, but hey it was only $15). Other equipment? A silicon spoon, a cheap metal colander, and a cookie sheet. It takes about ten minutes for a batch that makes two pots of coffee.

Yep, that’s it. That is all I need to make the wonderful transformation from teeny tiny green bean to an amazing cup of life blood to course through my veins.

13258864_1113338278707489_1089932714_n

I don’t even have to charge myself extra for dark roast.

I am far from perfecting my technique, and my equipment is just barely above primitive. I have  no control over the temperature, I have yet to figure out how to control where the chaff goes (other than assuming it will all be in my face) and I am still figuring out timing- which of course changes based on my bean, how much is in there, ambient temperature and so on. I am happy with my start, though! The fresh roasted beans far surpass anything I can buy off the shelf, and I am confident it will only get better as I learn all the nuances.

I am happy with this as my first lesson, and feel it will help fuel me through the remaining 364. My next related lesson will probably be roasting flavored coffee, Creme Brulee coffee, here I come!

I would love to hear about your adventures in coffee roasting, or anything else you are learning!

Leave a Reply

